Walking With Different Feet

Photo Credit: Liz Wenzel

Photo Credit: Liz Wenzel

Okay WordPress, I’m not going to lie to you – I’m drinking and sewing. Today I found out I got accepted into my top Master’s program so I wanted to celebrate, but I also wanted to sew…so I’m sewlebrating! That was the last bad pun for the evening, I swear.

I have learned a few things about Miss Singer today. For example, she doesn’t like pins. No pins, holding any type of fabrics together, are allowed to be near the foot of the sewing machine or she will stop completely in a fit of rage and not budge until all pins are completely out of sight. This took me four different attempts at a hem to find out – Miss Singer would just stop right before a pin would come up. The engine would still make a noise, but neither the needle or the motor would actually move. It was only after I worked through the same hem four times that I finally tried taking out the pin it would stop in front of, and voila, it worked – she kept pushing through the rest of the hem.

I have also learned that Miss Singer has different types of feet. Of course Miss Singer comes prepared with a different pair of shoes for every occasion, it’s only lady-like.

When I started, I had no idea what these metal objects in my box could be for. After a little searching and tinkering, I discovered their secrets and now, with pleasure, I share their usefulness with you.

I’m going to start with the most intimidating because that’s more fun.

The Ruffler.

IMG_0181

This mean looking beast actually does something quite adorable: it makes ruffles, the cascading flow of fabric that is usually found on little girls dresses.

The Gatherer.

IMG_0186

This would be the equivalent of Miss Singer’s hairspray. As my instruction manual describes, “any fabric that drapes well is especially suited for shirring with the gatherer.” In layman’s term, that means that it helps long handing fabric keep a shape as it drapes down. It creates elongated stitches to hold the fabric upright – almost the same way hairspray keeps a structure to a hairstyle.

The Edge-Stitcher.

IMG_0188

I love this one.

It main purpose is to make “tucking” stitches, where the fabric is gathered like a fan, but its secret ninja purpose is to make the perfect hem!

Just measure the hem and turn the edge and insert it into one of the slots that fits.

With the edge-stitcher, you can make a French seam, which is an extremely small hemline if you’re feeling a little fancy, as well as a bunch of other cool techniques.

The Binder.
IMG_0192

This one uses bias tape, a type of extra fabric that helps to to sustain the integrity of the edges of the fabric your using to keep it in tact. Seems legitimate, but I don’t think I’ll ever practically use this one. You can learn more about it here.

The Foot Hemmer.

IMG_0198

This little guy is a pain in the butt, but makes a dainty hem line. I need more practice with this one, but here’s a video for you to practice as well.

all photos credit of Liz Wenzel.

Leave a Reply

